So Yesterday I Got Contacts

Sunglasses Love

 

My eyes are weird. I’m near-sighted in one eye, far-sighted in the other, have a focusing problem in one, and an astigmatism in the other. My glasses are SUPER expensive as a result, and since losing my vision coverage (turned 26 and aged out of my mom’s super awesome benefits) I have been terrified to go to the eye doctor for fear my prescription changed and I would have to get a new pair of glasses, which in the past have run (WITH insurance help) anywhere from $500 – $700 dollars.

Yuck, right?

However lately I’ve been getting some pretty bad headaches due to spending more time outside than I usually do. I’ve been glasses only basically since I got them in 8th grade. Apparently the focusing problem meant that contacts would cause a bit of an issue for whatever reason, so sunglasses are not something I’ve been able to wear. The cost of my prescription means no prescription lenses, and just taking off my glasses to wear normal sunglasses leaves me blind enough to cause a headache anyway.

So the longer the summer has creeped on, the worse things have gotten. Finally last week as I was driving my grandmother around, I had enough. I was squinting up a storm and had a tension headache already starting at 11 am. It was time to bite the bullet and make an appointment to see if there was something we could do. Way back when, my eye doctor had told me that there was a chance that the focusing problem might improve once I hit my mid-to-late-twenties and officially stopped the major hormone and eye shape fluctuations that come with growing up. And so I called and made an appointment, my fingers crossed that that had happened, and also that my glasses prescription hadn’t changed one iota, because there’s no way I was going to be able to afford new glasses.

Well, I had my appointment yesterday, and miracle of miracles, I got lucky! My focusing problem had indeed gotten better. Is it gone? No, but it’s improved enough so that the lenses moving around on my eye won’t make it worse (or something… idk I was 15 when they explained why it was a problem to me in detail). AND on top of that good news, my glasses are still A-Okay!

WOOOO! No $600 bill to beg my parents for help with!

But anyway, I’ve only had these contacts since yesterday, but already I’m obsessed with the possibilities that stretch out before me. As soon as I left the doctor’s office I ducked into Claire’s and picked up some cheap pairs, and then stopped at my parent’s to round up all the pairs I had accumulated as gifts over the years. I’m officially sunglasses obsessed.

And so as I tend to do when I find a new fashion obsession, I went Polyvore shopping. I apparently love tortoiseshell frames and bright, color pop wayfarers. It’s awesome how much I feel like sunglasses open up my summer wardrobe. Now, the challenge is going to be to find pairs like these ones I found on Polyvore that I can actually afford. Ideally, in a 2 for $6 deal like these pink ones I got at Claire’s.

2014-08-05_01-43-37

They make me feel so sporty!

4 thoughts on “So Yesterday I Got Contacts

  1. I got my contacts when I was 17, having had the glasses since I was 13 and I remember thinking about how I was going to be able to wear sunglasses and see when I was on stage being such great feelings!

  2. Awesome! So glad to hear that you didn’t have to get new glasses. I always thought that I looked dumb in sunglasses and hats, but I had to wear eye pro (protective eyewear) and hats all the time in the Army so I got used to them and developed an I-don’t-care attitude about how I look in them. I love those pink ones you got… now I’m itching to buy me a new pair!

    1. It was such a relief when she said my prescription didn’t change, I can’t even express it! And I felt the same way about sunglasses for a while – everything out there was either WAY too big for my face or far too sporty (like Oakleys) – but they’ve got a LOT of variation out on the market now. Fashion seems to have diversified itself during the 10 years I’ve been glasses only…

Leave a Comment!

