Another Christmas Come and Gone

Gifts laid out full

I hope everyone had a lovely holiday. Ours here at Magpie Making Do was crazy and chaotic as always. My status as musical sell sword had me running to and fro all Christmas Eve, and the usual family engagements kept me busy for the rest of the time. I didn’t even get a chance to exchange gifts with the boyfriend until the 27th! He loved his gifts (or so he says) – I gave him a set of Knitpicks Harmony Interchangeables (yes, he knits!) and a few other things he had requested including slippers and a pair of Penn State PJ pants.

Pen and Ink

But I have to admit, he outdid me quite a bit this year. He got me a Noodler’s Ahab fountain pen (a flex pen, no less), a bottle of ink, a compilation of a few of my favorite movies that I had been wanting on DVD for forever, and… wait for it… a dress form. I couldn’t believe it. I’m super excited to try it out come the new year.

Dress Form

In general I’m super lucky to have family and friends who know and “get” me like they do. I got so many gifts this year that I love and that show such a clear understanding of who I am. I just hope I managed to do half as well with my gift choices for them.

This year we did change the gift exchanges up a little bit for the sake of finances. My brother and I being the only “kids” in the area on both sides, we used to exchange with the entirety of both sides of my family. Everyone bought for everyone. But this year, with me in a more expensive apartment without extra income and my brother poised to graduate from school in May to embark on his career as a professional freelance musician, my mom’s side of the family (the biggest) decided to switch to a “secret santa” type exchange in order to take some of the financial pressure off of us youngins. It worked out well – we rigged it so that immediate family wouldn’t get each other. And then of course I still exchanged with my parents, my brother, and my aunt and grandmother on my Dad’s side.

recipe journal and books

You can see some highlights of what I received in the pictures here. As for giving, I didn’t do much hand-making of gifts this year due to lack of time. I spent most of my energies working on an afghan for my mom, who has had a rather hard year. Photos of that to come next time I’m at my parent’s house with my camera – I was still finishing it up at the last minute and didn’t grab any photos before having to wrap it.

Yarn and Monarchy

What about you all? Get or give anything good for Christmas?

– Magpie

3 thoughts on “Another Christmas Come and Gone

  1. I love the idea of doing a secret santa instead of gifts for everyone. My dad’s side is pretty big and now that all of the cousins are older, this just makes sense! I feel like it allows the buyer the opportunity to buy a great gift for your secret person. With 12 cousins, a few long term significant others, and some little babies running around, it’s hard to be thoughtful for everyone!
    I also love that you bought your boyfriend slippers. This is the second year in a row I asked for a pair from Dean. My mom called us lame but I loved them. I wish I could live in my slippers!

    1. It really worked so well, particularly for me and my brother – we always felt a little icky having to budget so strictly and end up with only tiny, sort of cheap gifts for everyone. Being able to focus on one person allowed us to actually get something decent and feel like we’re REALLY participating in the gift exchange, you know?

      Also, slippers are the best! I totally agree with you. I’d wear them everywhere if I could too – I’ve actually accidentally left the apartment with them still on several times!

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Afghan | Magpie Making Do

Leave a Comment!

